tookdown


July 1st, 2005

okay so taking that site down was quick, as less than 24 hours after the post the URL was unreachable… I also received a generic e-mail reply from spoof@ebay.com teaching me how to avoid getting duped by spoof e-mails… hello! what did i just do? :)

well in all fairness I think AoL conducted themselves well since it took them this short to attend to the matter… of course this isn’t the first or last phishing scam out there but… the fewer the better. I’m still very curious whether the WHOIS information - particularly the part pertaining to the name and personal details of the person to register ebaymain.com - is true… something tells me it probably isn’t but… who knows? it’d be hard to take appropriate legal action about this, anyhow…

[ the political part of this rant has been left out due to time constraints =) ]

  • TwitThis
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Google
  • Technorati
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Live
  • Slashdot
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Mixx

Post a Comment


«Fwd: Phishing website in AoL IP range | home | i so didn’t need this…»